18 Top DUI and DWI Law Firms in Austin, TX

Use this list to find the best DUI and DWI attorneys in Austin, TX. We suggest you contact at least three firms to determine which one best fits your budget and comfort.

Recommened dui and dwi law firms near you

Good to know...

Getting a DUI or DWI can be difficult and stressful, so we found some information which might help you.

If this is your first time receiving a DWI, what are the legal consequences?

First-time DWI offenders typically receive lighter sentences, including a fine of up to $2,000, a license suspension of up to a year, and three days to six months in jail. The court may also place you on probation, require you to perform community service, or require you to participate in a drunk driver education program, and require you to install an ignition interlock device before driving to measure your BAC.
Source: moraleslawoffice.com

Is it possible to regain your license after a DWI?

A provisional driver's license may be available during the suspension period, which often requires you to use an ignition interlock device. After your license has been suspended, you must pay a reinstatement fee and submit documentation demonstrating your compliance with the sentence to have your license reinstated.
Source: moraleslawoffice.com

What is the Texas law on intoxication?

Texas has a lower limit for intoxication than for drunkenness. According to the DWI statute, you are intoxicated if you have lost the normal use of either your mental or physical abilities to drive as a result of alcohol, drugs, and/or controlled substances. Intoxication is also defined as having a blood alcohol content of .08 or greater.
Source: austin-criminallawyer.com

What are the consequences of POM (possession of marijuana)?

Under two ounces of marijuana can lead to 180 days in jail and a $2000 fine. Having more than two ounces of marijuana means double or more penalties, and anything over four ounces of marijuana is considered felony possession.
Source: austin-criminallawyer.com

Is there any benefit in requesting an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) Hearing?

Certainly. It may be your first and probably only opportunity to talk to the officer and hear his side of the story before the prosecution have a chance to coach the officer.
Source: austindwi.com

When should I hire a criminal defense lawyer?

Immediately. According to Texas law, you must request a hearing within 15 days of the date of your DWI arrest. If you fail to hire an attorney and a hearing is not requested, you have waived your right to fight the suspension of your license. The earlier you act, the more likely they will be able to provide you with the criminal defense you need.
Source: austindwi.com